Sometimes, it’s a matter of being in the right place, at the right time. This morning, because I left my home keys in the office, I had to make a detour to the in-laws to get the spare set of keys. This caused me to be slightly later than normal. This coupled with a glitch on SBS IRIS (Yes, there are glitches on IRIS where bus arrivals occasionally go missing, but it is still better than SMRT who doesn’t even have one) that caused me to miss a bus by mere seconds, I got onto the next bus which was about 5 minutes later.

During the bus ride, I heard on Class 95 that there was a fallen tree along Jalan Bukit Merah between Lower Delta Road and Kampong Bahru. That was in the route of my bus to work. When approaching Jalan Bukit Merah from Kampong Bahru, there were traffic police diverting traffic onto Tiong Bahru Road via CTE and Kim Tian Road. However, the bus captain of the bus I was on drove straight into Jalan Bukit Merah and was stopped by the traffic police as the road was impassable. Contrary to the traffic report on Class 95, the tree fell on Jalan Bukit Merah towards Queensway, not in the direction towards Kampong Bahru.

So there I was at the site of the fallen tree. I couldn’t resist the opportunity to snap photos from both sides of the road, as it’s not every day that one would get into situations like this.


Photos were taken with a Nokia N97 and resized and watermarked using XnView Portable

