I’m loving my leave so far, really feels good being able to go around my business without worrying about the time or meeting deadlines.

Last week, I was able to try out some new food places around town. They have been around for quite some time, but this is the first time I’m trying them out. I happened to pass by the first while running an errand, the next was a second chance and I made an effort to get to the third.

Udders @ West Mall

I was at West Mall last Tuesday to transfer my home phone line back to SingTel fixed line after about a year on Starhub Digital Home. The wife still prefers the tried and tested. Might blog about it in another post.

The opening hours was supposed be from 11am to 10pm, but I was ‘lucky’ enough to choose the day when they delayed opening by an hour for annual financial year consolidation. So with an hour to burn, I roamed around the mall to do some window-shopping.

The first thing that caught my eye was the ad on the first floor escalators. Udders was having 10% off single scoops.

Having read Justin’s post on Little Ice Cream Kafe, I recalled his reference of the Lychee Martini ice-cream from Udders. Being the lychee fanatic that I am, I couldn’t resist checking it out.

The outlet is situated on the second floor in between the escalators. Though it is in a corner, it has a sign along the walkway that you can’t miss. The table tops at the outlet have hilarious cartoons of cows and udders.

The staff there were friendly and offered me free tasting of their various flavours prior to purchasing. They even allowed me to take a photo of their price list.


Their flavours are classified into 3 ranges, Classic, Premium and Connoisseur. The prices varies according to range.

In all, I tasted 4 flavours,

  • Bailey’s & Burbon (Premium) – Nice creamy flavour, can’t taste the burbon though
  • Earl Grey (Classic) – Rich taste of Earl Grey
  • Vanilla Beanz (Classic) – Classic taste of Vanilla
  • Strawberry Fields (Classic) – Full of strawberry bits and pits

After tasting, I settled for a Classic and Connoisseur combo of Strawberry Fields and Lychee Martini. It is a good combination if you like fruit flavoured ice-cream. The two flavours of lychee and strawberry blended well together.

The Lychee Martini was palatable with a nice refreshing lychee flavour. However, I was unable to taste the alcohol that Justin mentioned (probably due to my occasional swigs of vodka). d8

The Strawberry Fields, on the other hand, was heavenly. I could taste the bits of strawberries with every spoonful. If you look closely, you can actually see the strawberry pits in the ice cream. Definitely a must try if you love strawberry ice-cream.

They have other outlets in Bukit Timah and Novena. Do check out their website.

Kaffe & Toast @ SGH

I mentioned in my post last week that I would try out the otah bun from Kaffe & Toast the next time I visited my dad at SGH.

So on Wednesday, I had the otah bun set for lunch. The set came with an otah bun, 2 half-boiled eggs and a hot drink. I had the coffee with my set.

I’ve always had a soft spot for otah with bread. I usually pair the small 40 cents otah and with Gardenia sliced bread. This is the first time I tried bread with mackerel otah (the bigger $1.50 type with fish chunks), and I wonder why I never thought of this combination before. The bun that came with the otah was nice and fluffy and it complemented the spicy and firm texture of the otah very well.

The eggs that came with the set were cooked just right, which should be expected of any respectable kaya toast and eggs makan place. The coffee, though fragrant, lacked the caffeine punch that coffee junkies, like me, require.

The otah bun set is a refreshing change to the kaya toast breakfast set which is commonly found in various breakfast places and coffee shops. I would recommend it to anyone who has a soft spot for otah.

Once Upon a Milkshake @ Tanjong Pagar

Ever since reading tweets about the milkshakes from DK and posts by myfoodsirens and claudswu, I have been looking for a chance to try out the milkshakes at Once Upon a Milkshake.

On my way back from SGH, I decided to pick up the ASUS UL30A I got for recontracting with Starhub. The collection outlet was in China Square Central on Cross Street, which was not too far off from Maxwell. It was a warm and sunny day, a day which made slurping down a cool milkshake all the more tempting. So, armed with Nokia Maps on my trustyN97, I decided to hoof it to Maxwell Chambers to try out the milkshakes.

When I got there at around 4pm, what greeted me was a quiet little outlet with white tables and wooden chairs that seats about 20-30 people max. And because it was late in the afternoon, there were only a couple of customers around. It would have been a nice place to sit down and chill out, if I wasn’t in such a rush to get back and pick my boy from childcare.

The milkshakes have very unique names.  There are 10 flavours to choose from.  The flavours are,

  1. agent strawberry – Strawberry
  2. chocolate truffle castle – Chocolate
  3. nutty peanut butler – Peanut Butter
  4. spooky mocha – Mocha
  5. pirate queen peach – Peach
  6. sir cookies & cream – Cookies and Cream
  7. vainilla pot – Vanilla
  8. grumbling raisins – Rum and Raisins
  9. cerious maple – Maple
  10. litchi otokonoko – Lychee


Ordered a regular chocolate truffle castle. Have been craving for a chocolate milkshake for ages. It didn’t disappoint. The milkshake was very chocolaty with lotsa chewy chocolate bits and it was topped off with chocolate chips. Delish!

I am already planning what to have on my next trip here. Eying the litchi otokonoko and grumbling raisins. Two of my other favourite ice-cream flavours. Can’t wait!

